Lance’s Birthday

Lance’s birthday is on St. Patrick’s Day.  This year’s birthday fell on Spring Break (he works at a college) so he had a few days off.  It was nice spending a few days together and working on a little project together (pictures of finished project coming soon!)

This year Lance wanted me to make him a traditional St. Patrick’s Day dinner of corn beef and cabbage.  So I did! It was sooooooo good! I though it would be daunting to make since I’ve never made it before, but it was actually very easy.

The only thing I wasn’t a fan of was the rye bread.  It was too tangy for me.

My plate:

Lance:

After we ate we had birthday cake!  I made him a Grasshopper cake (mint-vanilla cake, fudge filling, whipped cream icing) and it was really good!

We had this meal at lunchtime, and so the girls I keep were eating with us.  When I brought out the cake, Kelly (age 3) was mid-sentence, telling Lance something and when she noticed the cake she stopped talking and just said “Ooooooohhh”, and then clapped her hands.  Haha!  Then the girls helped me sing “Happy Birthday” to Lance.

It was a really good relaxing day for the both of us.

The next night we went out on a birthday date.  Normally for Lance’s birthday, we invite abunch of friends and all go to a restaurant (which is what I was planning this year).  When I told Lance about it, he said he’d really just like a date with me! Which I didn’t object, because we will not get many more of those after the baby comes!  We had a good time.

And in case you want to know what to do with all that leftover corn beef, cabbage and potatoes:

Make potato salad and corn beef sandwiches!

One response

Leave a Reply

