13 Weeks

I was 13 weeks pregnant on Wednesday.  I feel so thankful I’ve come this far and am in my second trimester!  Today I got to hear my baby’s heartbeat for the first time.  I’ve had ultrasounds but they’ve always just measured the heartbeat and I’ve never actually heard it.  Around week 6, I bought a Fetal Doppler off Amazon.  It said that I wouldn’t be able to hear the heartbeat until 14 weeks, but that didn’t stop me from trying sooner!  I haven’t tried in a few weeks, so today I decided to give it a go.  It took a minute or two but I finally found the little “whoosh whoosh whoosh” sound.  It was pretty sweet hearing my baby.

My first trimester I felt pretty nauseous when I was hungry and didn’t eat anything right away.  I was also pretty tired.  The past couple weeks it’s changed a little bit.  Now, I feel nauseous when I eat.  I have to be really careful not to overeat or get too full because I feel really sick for like an hour afterwards.  I have a little bit more energy these days too.  I can still wear my regular jeans, but have to unbutton them and prefer wearing my pair of maternity jeans I bought.

I’m having fun thinking about the way I want to decorate my nursery.  I’m leaning towards gender neutral bedding so that I can reuse it and then personalize the decorations depending on if it’s a boy or girl.  (I think it’s a girl though!)

Leave a Reply

