Menu Plan Monday

This week is going to be kind of a busy one.   I’m helping host my sister-in-law’s Lingerie Shower on Thursday, so there’s a lot to prepare for that.  Also Lance’s mom and grandma are going to be in Nashville all week, so I’m sure we’ll be having lots of family time.  But that’s a good kind of busy! 🙂

Recipes marked with (*) are below.

Monday: Sweet & Sour Chicken over rice, salad

Tuesday: Crockpot Meatballs*, Pasta Salad**, green beans, Herbed Monkey Bread (having family over for dinner!)

Wednesday: Garlic Shrimp***, Carrot Salad****, Oven roasted potatoes, Rosemary Rolls (I don’t homemake mine, I buy rolls in the freezer section and doctor them up!)

Thursday: Bruschetta Pizza*****

Friday: Lingerie Shower.  We’re eating finger foods.

Saturday: Oriental Salad ******, Rosemary Rolls

Sunday: Out to Eat

*Crockpot Meatballs:

1 lb. ground beef

1 c. bread crumbs

3 tbsp. chopped parsley

1 tsp. minced garlic

1 chopped onion

1 (16 oz) can crushed tomatoes

1 (14 oz) can tomato puree

Mix the beef, bread crumbs, parsley, garlic and onion. Form into balls and place into slow cooker. Mix crushed tomatoes and puree and pour over the meatballs. Cook on low 6-8 hours.

**Pasta Salad

16 oz. box penne rigate pasta

1.5 cups cucumber, diced small

1/2 medium onion, minced

1/4 cup vegetable oil

1/2 cup white vinegar

1 tsp. salt

2 tbsp. yellow mustard

1 cup white sugar

parsley (to taste)

Cook and drain pasta. Coat with oil. Mix vinegar, sugar, salt, and mustard until sugar dissolves.  Pour over pasta.  Throw in cucumbers, onions, and parsley.  Refrigerate a couple hours and stir before serving.

***Garlic Shrimp

1/2 lb. frozen, deveined shrimp

1/2 tsp. minced garlic

2 tbsp. butter

Thaw shrimp according to package directions. Melt the butter over med-high heat.  Add shrimp and garlic.  Saute until shrimp are pink (usually about 3 minutes total).

**** Carrot Salad

1 lb. carrots, grated

1 apple, chopped

1/2 cup walnuts, chopped

1/2 cup golden raisins

juice from one orange

splash of apple cider vinegar

Combine all ingredients and refrigerate at least one hour before serving.

***** Bruschetta Pizza

I take a Pillsbury can of pizza crust, smash it out onto a cookie sheet sprayed with nonstick cooking spray.  I soften 1/3 stick of butter in the microwave and spread it with a spoon over the crust.  I sprinkle chopped onions and diced tomatoes (Hunts brand, seasoned with garlic and italian seasonings), grated cheese, and fresh parsley.  Then I bake it until the crust is done and the cheese is melted.

****** Oriental Salad

1 package cole slaw mix

1 package chicken flavored ramen noodles

1 cup sunflower seeds

1 cup slivered almonds

1/2 cup sugar

1/2 cup oil

1/3 cup vinegar

For the sauce: combine the ramen sauce mix packet, sugar, oil, and vinegar.

Mix the cole slaw, sunflower seeds, almonds, and crushed ramen noodles.  Pour sauce over it and refrigerate for about 30 minutes before serving.

This post is linked to Organizing Junkie’s Menu Plan Monday.

8 responses

  1. I’ve never made meatballs in the crock pot… I think I have this fear that they’ll turn out mushy? Do they hold up ok? I love the idea! And I giggled a little about the “eating finger foods” at the lingerie shower… because, really, who wants to feel all stuffed when looking at lingerie? 😉

    • I’ve actually never made them before. I’m adapting the recipe from a meatball spaghetti sauce recipe, but took away some of the liquids because I just want the meatballs. I hope they don’t turn out mushy! I’ll let you know!

      • The meatballs were gross! Thankfully I tasted them a couple hours before company was supposed to come and had time to throw them out and make shrimp scampi instead! Haha! I will be looking for a different recipe for sure!

    • I need to clean out my freezer and cabinets too! Your menu looks good! I didn’t know it was possible to make the pizza hut breadsticks! Those are my fav!!

  2. I absolutely loved the Herbed Monkey Bread! I tried it last night and it was so delicious. Thank You!!! BTW, your blog is great, I am so glad I found it! Have a wonderful day!

Leave a Reply

