Christmas came early!!!

Lance and I hadn’t really planned on getting each other anything for Christmas.  If there is something we want, we talk about it together, evaluate the “need” for it, and then make a plan for paying for it.  I much prefer that we get little things here and there as opposed to a big, unneccesary purchase at Christmas. 

Lance told me a month or two ago, that he got a small surprise for me to open at Christmas.  Since we’re leaving on Sunday, and I’m working overnight tonight and all day Saturday, he let me open it last night.  I was speechless and teary.  He got me a new binder to put all my recipes in and The Pioneer Woman Cooks!!!

I love the little miniature plate and utensils on the front of the recipe book!

The inside has cute little detailed cards with sheet protectors.

And then there’s my new favorite book:

I LOVE all the pretty pictures on the inside.  All the recipes are so easy to follow because there’s visual aid for every step!

Now, some of you might be thinking, “Why did this silly girl get teary-eyed over some books?”  I got teary-eyed because Lance bought this present a month or two ago and just last week I mentioned that I really wanted a better way to organize my favorite recipes.  My mom-in-law gave me a really cute recipe box last year, but I’ve worn it out.  It’s literally breaking at the corners, and we tried tape, but it hasn’t held up.  Lance knew what type of present would be perfect, without me even saying anything, and the thoughtfullness touched my heart. 

The cookbook he just picked up last night because he saw me lusting after it on my computer screen, and thought it would go great with the recipe organizer! Haha! He was so right! I squealed when I saw it!

If you don’t read the Pioneer Woman’s blog, you are MISSING OUT! She is witty, loves her family, is a great photographer, and is an inspiration in ways beyond her good cooking.

Anyway, I spent the next, *ahem*, six hours hour or two reading over every single page of my new cookbook and copying all my own scribbled recipes in my new book.

Of course, then I REALLY wanted to cook something of Pioneer Woman’s.  I had already planned to try out her Monkey Bread Muffins this week and just hadn’t gotten around to it yet.  This recipe is not in her cookbook but it’s what I had ingredients for.  It’s so easy too!

Basically you just put some butter, cinnamon, and sugar into muffin cups,

roll thirded, canned biscuits into balls and stick 3 into each cup,

and then top with more butter, cinnamon, and sugar!

What’s so special; that’s just a normal monkey bread recipe right? Wrong! Pioneer Woman suggests one more key ingredient:

Yum!

After they came out of the oven they looked like this:

Then I poured on the sweetened condensed milk and let it soak up!

Oh my goodness, they are so good! Perfect size as well!

But don’t just take my word for it! Check out her photos of them here.

I’m so thankful for my husband and his thoughtfullness.  He picked the perfect gifts!

One response

  1. I also read the Pioneer Woman blog and agree with you, it’s great. Since you are an avid cook and in to organizing recipes and all, I thought I’d mention a product I found called Cook’n. This is recipe software that has (in a nutshell): a menu planner to prepare meals in minutes, a family cookbook maker to create personal gifts, over 60 famous cookbooks (thousands and thousands of recipes), a grocery shopping tool to simplify shopping, and a nutrition analyzer for specific dietary needs. I’ve tried several and this is my favorite, not just because of the super features, but their after-sale tech-support is phenomenal. It would be a nice tool to help you with your blogging I think!

Leave a Reply

