Cupcakes!

I tried to make Lance cupcakes on Thursday.  I got off around 5:30p and then I worked on laundry and cleaning house until around 9p, and then I didn’t really know what to do until Lance got off at 11p.  I haven’t made him cupcakes since his birthday, so I thought I would surprise him! I had this Butter Fudge cake mix in my cabinet that I had gotten free with a coupon at some point.  So I mixed it according to directions and baked it.  While they were cooling and waiting to be iced, I watched an episode of Grey’s Anatomy.  After Grey’s I went to ice them and they were rock hard! I even tried tasting one and it was bad.  It was so bad.  They only thing I can think of is that the mix was expired or something!

Well, I decided to make him some more today! This time I used a fresh mix! He wanted fall sprinkles and that inspired me to get out some food coloring and make completely fall colored cupcakes!

I started with the mix and made it according to directions.

100_0976

Then I separated it into 4 bowls evenly and used food coloring gel to make it green, orange, red, and yellow.

100_0977

Then I just layered it into the lined cupcake pan.

100_0981

100_0983

I iced them with homemade buttercream icing. You don’t even want to know how much butter is in that stuff! Ugh!!

And then I topped them with fall sprinkles!

100_0990

Yum! I’m pretty sure I scored some points in the cool wife category today! He loved them!

And just in case you were wondering what they look like on the inside:

100_0992

So fun!!!

One response

Leave a Reply

