Smooth Legs, Yay!

As I was getting ready to take my shower tonight, I realized that the can of shaving cream I had in the shower was empty.  Rather than just shave with soap (ow!), or skip shaving altogether, I was able to go to my stockpile and just grab another can.  I have about 2 more cans in there and Lance has about 4!

That’s why I do couponing.  It’s a great feeling knowing that I haven’t paid money for shaving cream, toothpaste, toothbrushes, body wash, shampoo, conditioner, mouthwash, and deodorant for over 6 months!  That doesn’t make me cheap; that makes me a good steward of our money.  Just like time invested into a job will reap money…time invested into couponing will save money.  I spend about 2-3 hours twice a week cutting coupons, compiling them, and going to different stores, but it sure is worth it!

I like to save enough things in our stockpile to last about 3 months. Usually in about 6 weeks-3 months the cycle will start over and you can get the items for free again.  When I find myself with extras, I like to give it away to family, friends, and shelters. 

I absolutely do not believe in hoarding.  I think it’s silly to take everything off the shelf just because I can get it for free.  I like to leave some for the other saavy shoppers.  I went to the Nashville flea market this past summer when my mom came to visit.  I saw this one lady’s booth that was FULL of piles and piles of things that I had seen on sale for cheap-to-free in the weeks preceding.  She was selling all of it for about 3/4 of the retail price. I think that is wrong. 

My goal is not to make a profit off of retail stores.  My goal is to utilize their sales in order to make our money stretch farther.  Plus, it’s nice not to run out of shaving cream 😉

Leave a Reply

