Second Anniversary

When I was a little girl people would ask me what I wanted to be when I grew up.  I said various answers such as Doctor, Veterinarian, Police Woman, etc.  When I got old enough to realize I was starting to grow-up, all I can remember thinking about was how much I wanted to be a wife.  As a teenager that desire almost consumed me.  It made me feel out of place.  While peers were thinking of parties, sports, mid-terms, and driver’s licenses, I was thinking of my future husband.  I didn’t have much self-confidence in high school and I prayed and prayed that despite my imperfections, God would give me a husband one day.

One summer when I was 15 or 16, I went to the National Convention of Free Will Baptists, like I had every year growing up.  My best friend, Jennifer, had just gotten back from a missions trip to Mexico with E-TEAM.  She had met a lot of people during the week of training and would stop and greet various people as we would walk around the convention center.  I soon was very interested in E-TEAM, and ended up going twice myself.  Anyway, on one of our last days at the Nationals, Jennifer walked up to this guy.  He was tall, cute, had big brown eyes, dark hair.  He wore a hat and an E-TEAM backpack.  When Jennifer talked to him, I saw him look at her directly and take real interest in what she was saying.  He was kind and interesting and didn’t leave me out.  I thought to myself, “This is the kind of guy I want to marry”.  He was unlike any of the guys in my school, church, or group of friends.  Well, seeing as how this guy lived in a different state and we were leaving soon, I didn’t expect to ever see him again.  I couldn’t even remember his name.  I did however, remember every detail about meeting him.  I thought the reason for this was because I now had hope that there were decent guys out there and maybe God had one picked out just for me.

Another event that I went to pretty regularly was Welcome Days at FWB Bible College.  I knew I wanted to go there when I graduated, but just liked to go to Welcome Days to hang out with my friends.  Plus, I could get out of a couple days of highschool to go!  During the spring, after the summer I met that guy, I went on one such trip.  We had a service one night where some societies did a couple skits, the choir sang, and a drama group did a presentation.  When the drama group got up on stage, I elbowed Jennifer and whispered, “That’s the guy from the Nationals!!!” She wanted me to try to talk to him again, but I was too shy. I learned the guy’s name was Lance.

When I graduated from highschool, I was so excited to go to the Bible College.  I honestly didn’t think the guy I met a couple years before would still be there, but I knew it would be a good atmosphere to meet Christian guys.  Freshman had to get to the college a couple days before everyone else to have orientation.  I met another freshman guy during my first days there and we started dating pretty quickly.  We dated for a year and a half.  We had a lot of problems and it didn’t work out.  We broke up in January of my sophmore year.  When we broke up, I was tired of dating.  I didn’t want to date anyone ever again, unless it was my husband.  That’s exactly what I asked God for, that the next guy I dated would be forever.

Lance and I had never talked to each other at college.  We had a class together once, and I can remember him telling me I looked pretty one day…but that was just him; he is a gentleman and will tell a girl she looks nice and it not mean anything.  But we had two different groups of friends and had never hung out.  Two weeks after my boyfriend and I broke up, I was talking to some of my friends in the student center.  Lance walked up to talk to them too and we kept catching each other’s eye.  A couple days later, he came up to talk to me when I was alone.  It was just a brief, friendly conversation but I knew something was going to happen.  That night when I was back in my dorm room, my phone rang and I froze because I knew it was him before I even answered.  He asked me out for coffee that Friday.

To make a long story short, I met his parents the Sunday after our first date.  We said, “I love you” a week or so later.  Lance proposed 7 months later and we married 8 months after that.

200041

Our wedding was perfect! It was everything I’d ever hoped for! Nothing went wrong, and everything was beautiful!

200701

201645

I married into a wonderful family that I learn to appreciate more and more.

204955

Even though we get bumps and bruises along the way, God couldn’t have given me a better husband and life-long best friend.  We are truly living…

200352

…happily ever after!

201141

3 responses

Leave a Reply

